Words of comfort: 1


From time to time, I just don’t have the energy to be a storyteller.  With three small children, that isn’t an unfamiliar feeling 😉

But, just because I don’t have the energy, or because I don’t feel inspired to say something creative, eye-catching or deep, doesn’t mean that I don’t want to connect with YOU, the betrayed, or those who support you, or those just reading to better understand what this is about.

I know that for me, song lyrics often tell my story, and give me a venue for venting my feelings, sitting alone in the car, radio blaring, me singing the song of my forlorn heart…but I am also inspired and touched by the words of others, quotes, and inspirational sayings.

I wanted to start a series here on the blog, where I share some of my favourite inspirational words that I collect. I collect them to look at, to refresh myself, to motivate myself to push on, and to remind myself of where I have been, what I have felt, what is ‘normal’, and where I want to be.  I hope you too will find peace and comfort in some of these words also.  Some are deep, some are sweet, some are crude, and some are funny.  If you like any, print them up, tape them to your monitor or bathroom mirror, read them every day.  Whatever works 🙂

 

Your journey has molded you…

Comments

  1. Foolish Woman says:

    This struck a chord with me. Even after what my husband did in his months of madness, it’s inconceivable that we should be apart; after thirty-six years we’ve become part of each other.

    “Love is a temporary madness. It erupts like an earthquake and then subsides. And when it subsides you have to make a decision. You have to work out whether your roots have become so entwined together that it is inconceivable that you should ever part. Because this is what love is . . .

    Love itself is what is left over when being in love has burned away . . . we had roots that grew towards each other underground, and when all the pretty blossom had fallen from our branches we found that we were one tree and not two.”

    Louis de Bernieres, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin

  2. tentativelyhopeful says:

    I found this quote today from a slide show that someone shared with me about 10 points of “real beauty” that I am going to share on my blog as a personal reminder to stay strong. It resonates…
    “Create your own story. Never let others create it for you.” It’s a very powerful reminder that we don’t have to be victims and that we have control even when it doesn’t appear so at the moment.

Leave a Reply

